jonny goes to england

London & co

“Do You Want to Open a Tap?”

with 4 comments

Yesterday, I was in a bar for a drink. After ordering the waitress asked me if I wanted to “open a tap”. First I thought it was a polite way to ask me if I had to go to the toilet or so .. but then I realised what it is. With an “open tap” you don’t have to pay for your drink immediately after ordering but they put it on a running bill and charge your credit card as you order. It’s good for them because drunk people with open taps (that sounds wrong..) are good for their business.

Written by jk

April 4, 2008 at 1:25 pm

Posted in english, London, UK

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think the bartender said, “Tab”. But “Tap” is probably more technically correct when drinking 🙂

    planetross

    April 4, 2008 at 2:34 pm

  2. Ooh, silly me! 🙂 .. thanks ross. I thought as well the word “tap” has a bit an ironic twist..

    jonny

    April 4, 2008 at 2:52 pm

  3. I loved the gun on the bag blog; the photos were great!
    That’s a classic!

    planetross

    April 4, 2008 at 4:01 pm

  4. Thanks for using time in order to compose “Do
    You Want to Open a Tap? | jonny goes to england”. Thank you so much again ,Norman

    http://yahoo.com

    February 10, 2013 at 1:51 pm


Leave a Reply

