jonny goes to england

London & co

The Blue Stilton Experiment

with 3 comments

Wikipedia refers to a study from the British Cheese Board which states the following:

A 2005 study carried out by the British Cheese Board claimed that when it came to dream types, Stilton cheese seemed to cause odd dreams, with 75% of men and 85% of women experiencing bizarre and vivid dreams after eating a 20 gram serving of the cheese half an hour before going to sleep.

So I thought I’m going to test this out and I bought a pack of blue stilton. One of my housemates decided to join me in the experiment.

First impression of this cheese was that it’s a rip-off from Gorgonzola. Which is most probably the case given that Gorgonzola’s history is few thousand years old and Stilton only 200. It’s drier than Gorgonzola, a bit milder and more salty. I had my first portion last Sunday, 30g before sleep.

The next morning, I didn’t notice any weird dreams .. however I realised how deep my sleep was. I slept like a rock which is usually not the case. That week I took Stilton twice again, last time on Wednesday night. I went to bed at 12:30 and set my alarm to 08:10. Unfortunately, I woke up after 09:30 with the alarm turned off! Now, everybody who knows me better knows that this happens extremely rarely … for me that’s a sign that Stilton is indeed altering sleep patterns. My housemate who also took blue stilton reports similar deep sleep experiences

So … go to your grocery store, get blue stilton and report back 🙂

Written by jk

May 17, 2008 at 2:46 pm

Posted in english, food, London, UK

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. spinnsocke!!
    Nein, very interesting.
    Wir werden den Test auch machen und rückmelden.

    isabel heusser

    May 17, 2008 at 3:24 pm

  2. I’ve probably built up a resistance to blue cheese/stilton/smelly goodness: can I have some more please.
    But when I eat a food for the first time in a large quantity I usually have very vivid dreams.
    The most recent new food: bamboo shoots.

    planetross

    May 18, 2008 at 3:24 pm

  3. Had Stilton last night at the conference dinner, didn’t help sleep, since I walk up 5h after I fell asleep, without any alarm… However, I could recall my dreams in much details, and they were weird, and very bloody… Went back to sleep, another series of vivid dreams. No blood this time, but nevertheless, not much sense…

    Colombine

    August 7, 2008 at 12:04 pm


Leave a Reply

