jonny goes to england

London & co

Travel & China

with 2 comments

IMG00389

Watermelon carvings!

I just returned from a nice, relaxing holiday.  While travelling back and forth I realised how annoying flying has become. Too many controls, pointless procedures, security routines, and random policies. All driven by a fear of something which (probabilistically) does not really exist.

Anyway, I decided that I will take the train back to Switzerland this Christmas. I wanted to do that for a long time and I’m quite looking forward to hopping on the train in Waterloo (or so) and arriving in Basel 6-7h later (with a change in Paris).

Something else. Today I was speaking to my Chinese coworker about why she’s getting married (next year in Bejing, maybe a good reason to go there!). She told me that in China there’s a saying (and now these are her words)

Women are like Christmas, after 25 everything’s on sale

and she meant with it that it’s important to marry quickly as woman. And if you are over 25 and still not married you just take what you get. She’s 27 and is the last (of 30 women) in her old university class to marry.

Written by jk

August 6, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Posted in english, Travel

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I will note this saying down 😉

    Gabi

    August 6, 2009 at 11:02 pm

  2. Haha ok Gabi. Are you on sale yet? Just kidding.

    jonny

    August 29, 2009 at 2:16 pm


Leave a Reply

